Thinking about what’s next…

One thing third year comes with besides the worry of the dreaded dissertation and final project/ exams is what’s next?! All you get asked is what are you doing when you graduate?

Honest answer- celebrating!! Usual answer- not a clue!! What they want us to say- I have it all mapped out and here’s the diagram to prove it!!

As nice as it would be to have no student over draft, a job and perfect house to move into.. truth is it doesn’t happen for many. My mum has been asking for months so what you doing and my answer if moving back in hasn’t been her ideal answer. It was only recently that I managed to get out of one dead end job and land a good one!! Is it anything to do with my degree well.. no it really isn’t. But is it pretty much a graduate job I say yes.

BUT all that aside what is really the perfect answer to the big question of what next… Personally I don’t want to think about what is next. My main concern has been and will be till my deadline is how am I gonna fit all this work in before it is due to a passable quality!! That really should be the answer, when I have a clue we will answer the question.

The idea of what do we do next is terrifying, I mean we joke about it amongst ourselves but really anyone who says they have it 110% together is totally lying to themselves and everyone around them haha. Like no one can tell you anything that will chill you out, recently my partner tried the cliche one chapter ends another begins and we talk about all the stuff we want to happen in the future. Which does occasionally calm you down when you think about all the stuff you can go on and do.

We eventually work out even a draft plan and idea of it can get you through, but it is really like how you’ve got through the past 3 years just wing it and hope for the best!!

Leave a Reply

